Susan Fuhrman


  • Accountability
  • State policy

Susan Fuhrman is the president of Teachers College, Columbia University, founding director and chair of the management committee of the Consortium for Policy Research in Education, and immediate past-president of the National Academy of Education. From 1995 to 2006, Fuhrman was dean of the University of Pennsylvania’s Graduate School of Education, where she was also the George and Diane Weiss professor of education. Fuhrman is on the board of directors of the Hawn Foundation, is a trustee of the Committee on Economic Development, and a member of the Board of Governors of the Pardee RAND Graduate School. She is a former vice president of the American Educational Research Association and a former board member of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. Fuhrman received bachelor’s and masters’ degrees in history from Northwestern University and a doctorate in political science and education from Teachers College and Columbia University. Among her recent books are “The State of Education Policy Research,” written with David K. Cohen and Fritz Mosher, and “The Public Schools” of The Institutions of American Democracy series, written with Marvin Lazerson.