Felice Nudelman
Board Member

Felice Nudelman is Executive Vice President of the Weiss Institute at the Say Yes to Education. The Weiss Institute is a new partnership between two nonprofit organizations with a combined half century of experience —  Education and America’s Promise Alliance. The Institute brings together the best thinking, latest research and community-tested strategies for the benefit of communities seeking to help more students get on a path to adult success and seeks to expand the capacity of communities to make it possible for all young people to earn a college degree or other postsecondary credential.

Prior to joining the foundation, Ms. Nudelman was with Antioch University, first as Chancellor and then as Chief Global Officer, Innovations and Partnerships. She has spent the majority of her career in education, both on college campuses and for 12 years with The New York Times Company, where she most recently served as executive director of education. In this capacity, Ms. Nudelman was responsible for developing and overseeing education initiatives, including The New York Times Knowledge Network.

Ms. Nudelman oversaw the development of The New York Times Knowledge Network in 2007, a new business model in e-Learning that includes collaboration with colleges and universities to create and deliver online courses and certificates, including courses created and taught by New York Times journalists. This new business model included a majority acquisition of EpsilenTM, an e-Learning and networking platform. In 2010 she led the Times Company’s collaboration with the Texas Education Agency to launch Project Share, a statewide initiative for 400,000 teachers and four million K-12 students.

Her involvement in higher education is both deep and diverse. She helped launch and is co-director of the American Democracy Project (ADP), a collaboration with the American Association of State Colleges and Universities, to foster student civic engagement. The project includes over 250 universities representing over 1.7 million students. At the June 2012 ADP conference and to kick off the 10-year anniversary, the organization honored Ms. Nudelman with the Spirit of Democracy Award.

In addition, she coordinated the CCSSO/Gates Foundation EdSteps project on behalf of the Times Company. EdSteps utilizes Web 2.0 technology to develop a national platform for skills framework development in K-12.

Before joining The Times, Ms. Nudelman served as executive director for Pace University’s School of Education, where she was responsible for internal and external relations, new program development, and the design and implementation of continuing education programs. In 1997 she received Pace’s Outstanding Contribution award for her work. Previously, Ms. Nudelman spent nearly a decade in academic affairs at Bloomfield College, where she served in several capacities including associate dean of academic affairs. During that time, she was awarded the National Academic Advising Association’s award for Best Advising Program in the country.

She obtained her B.A. in fine arts and philosophy from Allegheny College and her M.F.A. in photography from Pratt Institute. She is also an alumna of the 1995 Harvard Management Development Program.

In 2001 Ms. Nudelman and several colleagues led a seminar on leading and managing change for the Harvard Graduate School of Education. In 2007 they led a section of the Harvard Management Development Program focusing on professional growth and leadership.

Ms. Nudelman serves on the CAEL Board of Trustees, the Education Writers Association Board of Directors, the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC), Strategic Initiatives Advisory Council, SXSWedu Advisory Council, is a member of the College Board Innovation Advisory Board, and a member of the IAUP Executive Committee. She has served on the Board of Managers for Epsilen LLC, the NYU Poly Enterprise Learning Board, the Lesley University Leadership Council, the University of North Texas Board of Visitors and was Vice-Chair of the Board of Governors for The National Teachers Hall of Fame.