Latest News

A Look at Some States That Have Turned in Their ESSA Plans

Monday was the first official deadline for states to submit their Every Student Succeeds Act plans to U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos for approval. And, as of Monday evening, at least eight states and the District of Columbia had told Education Week that they’d turned in their plans to the feds, or were planning on hitting the send button by the end of the day.

Those on the list: Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Illinois, Massachusetts, Nevada, New Jersey, Tennessee, and Vermont. Importantly, this is not the official, final list from the Education Department of those that have submitted so far, just states that responded to our inquiry.

An additional five states—Colorado, Louisiana, Michigan, North Dakota, and Oregon—have finished their plans, or are very close but are giving their governor and, in some cases, other state leaders, time to review them before officially turning them in. The Trump administration has allowed states to submit their plans by May 3 if they need additional time for governors to take a look. Governors don’t have veto power over ESSA plans, but the law requires state chiefs to give their governors 30 days to review the plans.