Latest News

Betsy DeVos Approves Four More State ESSA Plans

The District of Columbia, Illinois, Oregon, and Tennessee all won approval from U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy Devos Wednesday for their accountability plans under the Every Student Succeeds Act. 

The plans detail how states will go about complying with the federal law in the coming years. The law goes into effect this fall.  

DeVos has now approved 10 of the 17 submitted state ESSA plans.