Search: Awards

Results 1 - 10 of 88



EWA 2019 Awards Overview Quick Webinar
In less than 30 minutes you'll learn about new categories and how to enter.

EWA 2019 Awards Overview Quick Webinar

If you’re interested in entering the 2019 National Awards for Education Reporting, the Education Writers Association will hold a brief webinar to outline the rules, categories and submission platform at 2 p.m. Monday, Nov. 18

In this 30-minute mini-webinar, Public Editor Emily Richmond will answer your questions and give a quick tour of the online entry form.


EWA Opens Entries for 2019 Education Reporting Awards
Journalists Working in All Media Invited to Compete

The Education Writers Association is pleased to announce the launch of the 2019 National Awards for Education Reporting. Journalists may submit entries from 9:00 a.m. Eastern time on Nov. 15 through midnight Pacific time on Dec. 15, 2019.

Journalists who have published work in 2019 on any education topic in any medium are encouraged to enter the contest, which features a total of 20 prizes with cash awards ranging from $1,000 to $10,000.


2019 EWA National Awards for Education Reporting

The Education Writers Association’s National Awards for Education Reporting advance education journalism by recognizing the field’s very best efforts. The awards’ goals are to:

  • Encourage and inspire more and better education journalism.
  • Underscore the importance of excellent reporting and storytelling as a cornerstone of democracy and education.
  • Highlight and celebrate the work journalists do to make a positive difference in their communities.

All independent news media may participate in the awards. So whether your work appeared in print or online, on TV or the radio, or all of the above, we’re eager to recognize meritorious coverage of any aspect of education.

The deadline to enter the EWA Awards was Dec. 15, 2019. Entrants will be notified of their status in early spring 2020. 


2019 Award Rules


All entries must have been published, posted or broadcast in an independent news outlet for the first time in 2019, with the following exceptions: EWA does accept series in which some of the articles were published during the 2018–2019 school year, but a majority of the series’ pieces must have run in calendar year 2019. There’s one additional caveat to this exception: Stories published or broadcast in 2018 that were recognized in last year’s EWA awards are ineligible for consideration in this year’s awards.


Recipients of the EWA Fred M. Hechinger Grand Prize for Distinguished Education Reporting. 

  • John Matthews, Washington Star (1972)

  • William Grant, Detroit Free Press (1973)

  • James Nolan and Linda Stahl, Louisville Courier-Journal (1974)

  • Jonathan Neumann, Daily Hampshire Gazette, Northampton, Mass. (1975)

  • James Worsham and Marguerite Del Guidice, Boston Globe (1976)

  • Lou Antosh, Philadelphia Bulletin (1977)

  • Stanley Moulton and Laurel Sorenson, Daily Hampshire Gazette (1978)


2019 Award Categories

The Education Writers Association’s 2019 National Awards for Education Reporting competition consists of seven categories. In addition, EWA welcomes entries for the Eddie Prize. 

Entrants should review all categories before entering their submissions. The most notable change since 2018 is the creation of a separate category for investigative journalism.