Search: About EWA

Results 1 - 10 of 147



2019-20 Journalist Advisory Board

Members of the advisory board are appointed by the president of the EWA Board of Directors and serve two-year terms. The 2019-2020 EWA Journalist Advisory Board consists of 13 members from a mix of regional and national media organizations.

Timothy Chipp
Abilene Reporter-News

Leah Clapman
PBS NewsHour

Larry Gordon

Benjamin Herold
Education Week

Barbara Kantrowitz
Columbia Journalism School

Robert Moore
El Paso Matters

Linda Shaw
Solutions Journalism Network

Jennifer Swindell
Idaho Education News

Michael Vasquez
The Chronicle of Higher Education

Liz Willen
The Hechinger Report


Stacia Cedillo
Program Specialist

Stacia Cedillo is a program specialist at the Education Writers Association. She develops content for EWA events, conducts research and writes for the organization’s website, and supports other EWA programs.


EWA Opens Entries for 2019 Education Reporting Awards
Journalists Working in All Media Invited to Compete

The Education Writers Association is pleased to announce the launch of the 2019 National Awards for Education Reporting. Journalists may submit entries from 9:00 a.m. Eastern time on Nov. 15 through midnight Pacific time on Dec. 15, 2019.

Journalists who have published work in 2019 on any education topic in any medium are encouraged to enter the contest, which features a total of 20 prizes with cash awards ranging from $1,000 to $10,000.


EWA Announces New Class of Reporting Fellows

EWA Reporting Fellowship

The Education Writers Association is pleased to announce its eighth class of EWA Reporting Fellows as part of the organization’s ongoing efforts to support ambitious journalism projects that inform the public on important issues in education.

“Enterprising coverage of education by independent journalists has never been more important, and EWA is proud to play a role in supporting their work,” said Caroline Hendrie, EWA’s executive director. “We are delighted to help make possible in-depth reporting by our members.” 


Tracee Eason
Operations Manager

Tracee Eason is EWA’s operations manager. Before joining EWA in November 1997, she was conference and catering manager for Ramada Limited Calverton and sales and administration coordinator at the same hotel. She also worked as an administrative assistant for the Institute of Mortgage Banking in Landover, Md. Tracee holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Bowie State University in Maryland.


Judy O’Babatunde
Events Coordinator

Judy O’Babatunde is the events coordinator of the Education Writers Association. She interfaces with vendors, members, speakers, and staff to help plan and execute EWA events. As an events enthusiast with a personal penchant for launching creative ideas, Judy has experience in project management and coordination, as well as marketing coordination and design.


EWA Invites Journalists to Apply for Fellowships on K-12, Postsecondary Topics

*The deadline for this round of the EWA Reporting Fellowship program was Sept. 10, 2019. The application cycle is now closed.

The Education Writers Association is pleased to announce a call for proposals for its next class of EWA Reporting Fellows. The fellowships provide financial awards to journalists to undertake ambitious reporting and writing projects. This will be the eighth class of EWA Reporting Fellows.