Community Advisory Board


Community Member Advisory Board

The Community Advisory Board was created by the Education Writers Association Board of Directors to help steer the organization’s programs and services for nonjournalist members. The nine-member board is made up of communications professionals with wide-ranging backgrounds, including education reporting and editing.

The board provides input and feedback to the EWA staff and Board of Directors on future direction for membership services. Members also play a large role in shaping sessions tailored for Supporting Community Members at the annual EWA National Seminar.


2021-22 Community Member Advisory Board

Members of the advisory board are appointed by the president of the EWA Board of Directors and serve two-year terms. The 2019-2020 EWA Community Advisory Board consists of 13 members from a mix of regional and national organizations. 

Juan Elizondo

Stephanie Germeraad

Nicolle Grayson
The Education Trust

Daria Hall

Michelle Lerner
Lerner Communications

Blair Mann
Data Quality Campaign

Dorie Nolt
Dorie Turner Nolt Consulting

Barbara Pape
Digital Promise

Justin Pope
Longwood University

Ronald Reed

Patrick Riccards
Driving Force Institute

Lauren Roth
Orange County Public Schools