Judges for the 2018 National Awards for Education Reporting

The Education Writers Association would like to express our deep gratitude and thanks to the busy professionals who volunteered their time to evaluate the entries. This group, made up of current and former journalists and journalism professors, each spent many hours carefully evaluating their assigned subsets of the more than 400 entries for the 2018 National Awards for Education Reporting and the Eddie Prize. (EWA judges did not evaluate entries that posed conflicts of interests.) This year, they told us, it was especially difficult to choose finalists and winners because of the encouraging number of deeply reported, well-written and impactful journalism about education.

Larry Abramson, University of Montana

Eva-Marie Ayala, Dallas Morning News

Bethany Barnes, Tampa Bay Times

Deborah Becker, WBUR

Dan Berrett, The Chronicle of Higher Education

Liz Bowie, The Baltimore Sun

Lauren Camera, U.S. News & World Report

Sarah Carr, The Teacher Project

Nick Chiles, freelance

Rose Ciotta, EdSource

Leah Clapman, PBS NewsHour

Cathryn Creno, Tempe Elementary School District

Martha Dalton, WABE

Cheryl Devall, Reveal

Kerry Donohue, PRX

Danielle Dreilinger, freelance

Steve Drummond, NPR

Erin Einhorn, Chalkbeat Detroit

Emmanuel Felton, The Hechinger Report

Deirdre Fernandes, The Boston Globe

Kelly Field, freelance

Vince Filak, University of Wisconsin

Cara Fitzpatrick, Spencer Fellow

Lisa Gartner, The Philadelphia Inquirer

Vince Gonzales, University of Southern California

Larry Gordon, EdSource

Erica Green, The New York Times

Joe Grimm, Michigan State University

Cornelia Grumman, Robert R. McCormick Foundation

Reeve Hamilton, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Beth Hawkins, The 74

Mark Horvit, University of Missouri

Laura Isensee, KUHF

Barbara Kantrowitz, Columbia University

Tyler Kingkade, freelance

Rebecca Klein, The Huffington Post

Celia Llopis-Jepsen, KCUR

Linda Lutton, WBEZ

Mary Beth Marklein, University World News

Kyla Calvert Mason, Wisconsin Public Radio

Ted Mellnik, The Washington Post

John Merrow, freelance

Dale Mezzacappa, Philadelphia Public School Notebook

Robert Moore, freelance

Kaitlin Mulhere, Money

Anita Narayan, U.S. News & World Report

Mary Niederberger, PublicSource

Denise-Marie Ordway, Harvard University

Steve Pickett, CBS News 11 Dallas

Teresa Prout, Greensboro News & Record

Justin Pope, Longwood University

Brock Read, The Chronicle of Higher Education

Dana Roberson, WNET

Gail Robinson, CUNY

Brian Rosenthal, The New York Times

Bob Sacha, CUNY

Claudio Sanchez, NPR

Roxanne Scott, WABE

Linda Shaw, Solutions Journalism Network

Scott Smallwood, Chronicle of Higher Education

Kyle Stokes, KPCC

Ki Sung, KQED

Jennifer Swindell, Idaho Education News

Kenneth Terrell, AARP

Mike Vasquez, The Chronicle of Higher Education

Teresa Watanabe, Los Angeles Times

Matthew Watkins, The Texas Tribune

Sonja Williams, Howard University

Bradley Wilson, MSU Texas

Jeff Young, EdSurge

Denise Zapata, EdSource

Bill Zeeble, KERA

Mikhail Zinshteyn, EdSource