Update on EWA Boards
April 2016

The Education Writers Association is pleased to announce the election of the 2016-2017 officers of the Board of Directors, the addition of a new director, and the appointment of six new members of the Journalist Advisory Board.

The 2016 – 2017 Board Officers

  • President:
    Scott Elliott, Chalkbeat Indiana
  • Vice President/Journalists:
    Greg Toppo, USA Today
  • Vice President/Community Members:
    Dakarai Aarons, Data Quality Campaign
  • Secretary:
    Scott Widmeyer, Widmeyer Communications – a Finn Partners Company
  • Treasurer:
    Felice Nudelman, Antioch University

Along with the elected officers, EWA is announcing the board’s election of a new board member: Joy Resmovits of the Los Angeles Times. Currently a member of the Journalist Advisory Board, Resmovits will replace departing board member Elizabeth Green of Chalkbeat. Green had served on the board since 2009, holding the office of board secretary from 2013 to 2015.

“We were so lucky to benefit from Elizabeth’s exceptional talent during her years of dedicated service to the EWA community,” said EWA Executive Director Caroline Hendrie. “And we’re thrilled that Joy is bringing her energy and ideas to our committed and forward-looking board.”

Terms for officers and board members commence May 1 at the opening of EWA’s 69th annual National Seminar. To learn more about the EWA Board of Directors and to see a complete list of current members, visit

Journalist Advisory Board

EWA is also excited to announce that the Board of Directors has decided to expand and name new members to the EWA Journalist Advisory Board. The 2016-2017 Journalist Advisory Board will consist of 13 members from a mix of regional and national media organizations. The new members include:

  • Larry Gordon, EdSource
  • Barbara Kantrowitz, The Hechinger Report
  • Robert Moore, El Paso Times
  • Linda Shaw, The Seattle Times
  • Jennifer Swindell, Idaho Education News
  • Michael Vasquez, The Miami Herald

EWA appreciates the service of the three members departing the board — Daarel Burnette of Education Week, Motoko Rich of The New York Times, and Nirvi Shah of Politico. We are also thankful for the continuing service of members remaining on the board. New terms for members of the advisory board commence May 1.

A complete list of the current Journalist Advisory Board is available on the EWA website.

Community Advisory Board

All members of the Community Advisory Board are starting the second year of two-year terms and will continue to serve in 2016-2017. See a list of board members on the EWA website.

EWA is grateful for the service of the organization’s boards and looks forward to the year ahead!