Host EWA’s National Seminar in 2020 or 2021

The Education Writers Association (EWA) is seeking higher education partners to host its 2020 and 2021 National Seminars. The annual EWA National Seminar is the largest and most influential professional gathering of education reporters and editors in the country, drawing hundreds of journalists, scholars, policy analysts, newsmakers, advocates, bloggers, and others. 

EWA takes responsibility for the lion’s share of planning the event. Yet hosting the conference offers educational institutions an unparalleled opportunity to build visibility and connections among education journalists from the grassroots to the most elite news outlets in the nation. We value our host relationship and typically showcase the institution’s experts and programs in the event program. We also welcome student involvement in the conference. 

Besides dozens of high-quality sessions on timely topics in education and its coverage, this flagship event includes the presentation of the annual EWA National Awards for Education Reporting recognizing the field’s very best efforts.  

To support prospective hosts’ planning, EWA provides detailed lists of the benefits and responsibilities of hosting, including an event budget template. We have an in-house events coordinator, as well as a staff dedicated to planning and executing the conference’s programming. We do not expect hosts to contract, pay for, or manage hotel sleeping room blocks for attendees.   

The 2020 and 2021 EWA National Seminars will be held for three consecutive days in late April, May, or early June of each year. In the past few years, participation in the conference has grown and diversified. EWA anticipates roughly 600 regular attendees as well as an additional 150 speakers and other guests.

Previous hosts include: University of Southern California (2018), Georgetown University (2017), Boston University (2016), University of Chicago (2015), Vanderbilt University (2014), Stanford University (2013), and the University of Pennsylvania (2012).

Priority will be given to proposals received by December 14, 2018. For more information, including the RFP, contact Rachel Wolin, Development Director.