Finalists for 2016 EWA Awards for Education Reporting and Eddie Prize Announced
Winners To Be Honored at Annual Conference

April 19, 2017 (WASHINGTON, DC)—The Education Writers Association is delighted to announce the finalists for the 2016 National Awards for Education Reporting and the Eddie Prize, recognizing the top education stories in online, print and broadcast media across the country.

Produced by outlets that ranged from one-person bureaus to news media powerhouses, 36 entries earned the status of finalist from EWA’s panel of judges. The entries were characterized by compelling writing, high-impact visuals, and illuminating data. 

“EWA is proud to showcase these contributions to the public discourse on education,” said Caroline Hendrie, EWA’s executive director. “This year’s finalists distinguished themselves with their commitment both to the truth and the public they serve. There is no finer expression of the shared values of the education journalism community than this exemplary collection of stories.” 

EWA plans to announce winners for each category on May 31 at EWA’s National Seminar, being held May 31-June 2, 2017, at Georgetown University in the nation’s capital. On June 1, EWA is slated to announce the recipients of EWA’s second annual Ronald Moskowitz Prize for Outstanding Beat Reporting, which comes with a $2,500 award; the Edwin Gould Foundation’s Eddie Prize, with a $7,500 award; and the Fred M. Hechinger Grand Prize for Distinguished Education Reporting, which carries an award of $10,000.

More than 330 eligible entries were considered for 16 categories in EWA’s National Awards for Education Reporting, as well as the third annual Eddie Prize, which recognizes the best work on the challenges low-income students face completing college.

The awards competition was independently judged across five rounds by 58 current and former editors and reporters. No judge reviewed an entry submitted by his or her current or recent employers. The EWA Awards Board selected the category finalists, choosing from a short list of entries picked by judges of previous rounds.


EWA is grateful to the College Board for its generous support of the 2016 National Awards for Education Reporting.

The panel of judges includes:

  • Dakarai Aarons, Data Quality Campaign (formerly of Education Week)
  • Nan Austin, The Modeso Bee
  • Kathryn Baron, Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching
  • Dan Berrett, The Chronicle of Higher Education
  • Donna Blankinship, The Seattle Times
  • Megan Boehnke, Knoxville News Sentinel
  • Leslie Brody, The Wall Street Journal
  • Sarah Butrymowicz, The Hechinger Report
  • Kyla Calvert Mason, Wisconsin Public Radio
  • Lauren Camera, U.S. News & World Report
  • Kavitha Cardoza, Education Week
  • Julie Chang, Austin American-Statesman
  • Trisha Crain,
  • Julie Deardorff, Northwestern University (formerly of Chicago Tribune)
  • Nichole Dobo, The Hechinger Report
  • Margaret Downing, Houston Press
  • Danielle Dreilinger, | The Times-Picayun
  • Ron Feemster, Emporia State University
  • Emmanuel Felton, The Hechinger Report
  • Phyllis Fletcher, Northwest News Network
  • Erica Green, The New York Times
  • Joe Grimm, Michigan State University (formerly of Detroit Free Press)
  • Beth Hawkins, Education Post (formerly of MinnPost)
  • David Jesse, Detroit Free Press
  • Rebecca Klein, The Huffington Post
  • Alyson Klein, Education Week
  • Andrew Kreighbaum, Inside Higher Ed
  • Dan Mihalopoulos, Chicago Sun-Times
  • Bob Moore, El Paso Times
  • Katy Murphy, The Bay Area News Group
  • Joy Resmovits, Los Angeles Times
  • Lauren Roth, County Public Schools (formerly of Orlando Sentinel)
  • Gabrielle Russon, Orlando Sentinel
  • Stephen Sawchuk, Education Week
  • Katharine Schimel, High Country News
  • Linda Shaw, Seattle Times
  • Beth Shuster, University of Southern California (formerly of Los Angeles Times)
  • Delece Smith-Barrow, U.S. News & World Report
  • Aisha Sultan, St. Louis Post-Dispatch
  • Jason Wermers, Fernandina Beach News-Leader
  • Brendan Williams-Kief, National Center on Education and the Economy (formerly at NBC Washington/WRC-TV)
  • Alia Wong, The Atlantic

2016 EWA Awards Board:

  • Stephanie Banchero, The Joyce Foundation (formerly of The Wall Street Journal)
  • Michael Chandler, The Washington Post
  • Kim Clark, Money magazine
  • Martha Dalton, WABE
  • Larry Gordon, EdSource
  • Erica Green, The New York Times
  • Cathy Grimes, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (formerly of Daily Press, Virginia)
  • Cornelia Grumman, Robert R. McCormick Foundation (formerly of the Chicago Tribune)
  • Denise Ordway, Harvard Kennedy School (formerly of Orlando Sentinel)
  • Christopher Quinn, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
  • Carr Sarah, The Teacher Project
  • Jonathan Schorr, Consultant
  • Ki Sung, MindShift at KQED
  • Peg Tyre, Edwin Gould Foundation (formerly of Newsweek)
  • Francisco Vara-Orta, University of Missouri (formerly of San Antonio Express-News)
  • Maura Walz, Southern California Public Radio
  • Scott Widmeyer, Widmeyer Communications, a Finn Partners Company