EWA Thanks Outgoing Board Members for Years of Distinguished Service

The Education Writers Association wishes to express its deep appreciation to three departing members of its Board of Directors who contributed years of distinguished voluntary service to the nation’s professional organization dedicated to advancing high-quality education journalism.

The departing board members are Michael Alison Chandler, formerly an education reporter for The Washington Post and now managing editor of Memory Well; Scott Jaschik, co-founder and editor of Inside Higher Ed; and Francisco Vara-Orta, a longtime education reporter who is now a training director at Investigative Reporters and Editors.

Chandler has served as a board member since 2015. Among other contributions, she played a leadership role in developing EWA’s current five-year strategic plan.

During his nine years on the EWA board, Jaschik served as board secretary and vice president for journalist members before becoming treasurer in 2017. His talks at EWA conferences on hot topics in higher education are regularly among the seminars’ most popular sessions.

Vara-Orta’s four-year board tenure included service as vice president for journalist members, from 2017 to February 2019. Among other roles, he served as co-chair of EWA’s Diversity and Inclusion Task Force in 2018.

“Michael, Scott, and Francisco have all made lasting contributions to ensuring that EWA serves our members with relevant programs that truly advance our mission,” said Board President Greg Toppo. “They have all been terrific colleagues as we’ve worked together to chart a course for continued growth and success.”

Caroline Hendrie, EWA’s executive director, praised the outgoing board members’ commitment to the EWA community. “EWA members play a critical role in our democracy, and they deserve a strong professional organization dedicated to supporting them,” she said. “The EWA staff is lucky to have dedicated leaders like Michael, Scott, and Francisco.”

In the coming days, EWA will announce the selection of new board members, who will take office during the organization’s upcoming National Seminar in Baltimore. For information about registering for the conference, visit