EWA Names New Officers and Directors

The Education Writers Association is pleased to announce the appointment of five new members of the EWA Board of Directors and the election of the board’s 2019–20 officers.

Joining the governing board for their first two-year terms as directors will be Sarah Carr of The Teacher Project at Columbia University, Erica Green of The New York Times, Barbara McKenna of the Learning Policy Institute, Denise-Marie Ordway of Journalist’s Resource at the Harvard Kennedy School, and Beth Shuster of the University of Southern California.

With the addition of the five new directors, the EWA governing board will grow to 13 members. All of the incoming directors have served on one or both of EWA’s two advisory boards.

“These EWA members are exceptional ambassadors for the cause of high-quality education journalism,” said Board President Greg Toppo. “EWA is lucky to add such smart and talented professionals to its leadership ranks.”

Caroline Hendrie, EWA’s executive director, added that the EWA staff is looking forward to working closely with the recently elected officers to advance the organization’s strategic priorities. “This year’s officers all believe deeply in the importance of our mission, and the community can count on them to help carry it out,” she said.  

Terms for officers and board members commence during EWA’s 72nd annual National Seminar, being held May 6-8 in Baltimore. This year’s outgoing board members are Michael Alison Chandler of Memory Well, Scott Jaschik of Inside Higher Ed, and Francisco Vara-Orta of Investigative Reporters and Editors.

Learn more here about the current EWA Board of Directors. Please see below for more information on incoming directors and officers.

Board officers for 2019–20

President: Greg Toppo
Senior Editor, Inside Higher Ed

Vice President, Journalists: Steve Drummond
Senior Education Editor, NPR News

Vice President, Community Members: Scott Widmeyer
Founding Managing Partner, Finn Partners
and Founder, Widmeyer Communications

Treasurer: Felice Nudelman
Executive Director, American Democracy Project,
The American Association of State Colleges and Universities

Secretary: Debbie Veney
Director of Communications, NewSchools Venture Fund

Directors for 2019–20

Eva-Marie Ayala
Education Reporter, The Dallas Morning News

Sarah Carr
Editor, The Teacher Project at the Columbia Graduate School of Journalism

Erica Green
Education Correspondent, The New York Times

David Hoff
Senior Vice President, Hager Sharp

Barbara McKenna
Director of Media Relations, Learning Policy Institute

Denise-Marie Ordway
Managing Editor, Journalist’s Resource at the Harvard Kennedy School

Joy Resmovits
Education Editor/Assistant Metro Editor, The Seattle Times

Beth Shuster
Director of Public Communications, Office of the Provost, University of Southern California