EWA Names New Officers and Directors

image of new EWA Board Directors 2018

The Education Writers Association is pleased to announce the appointment of three new members of the EWA Board of Directors, as well as the election of the 2018–2019 officers of the board.

Joining the board for their first two-year terms as directors will be Eva-Marie Ayala of the Dallas Morning News, David Hoff of Hager Sharp, and Debbie Veney of NewSchools Venture Fund. They are replacing outgoing board members Dakarai Aarons, Scott Elliott, and Cornelia Grumman.

Terms for officers and board members commence May 16, 2018, at the opening of EWA’s 71st annual National Seminar. Learn more here about the current EWA Board of Directors. Please see below for more information on incoming directors.

Board officers for 2018-19

President: Greg Toppo
Senior Editor, Inside Higher Ed
Greg is embarking on the second year of his two-year term.

Vice President, Journalists: Francisco Vara-Orta
Data Specialist & Staff Writer, Education Week

Vice President, Community: Scott Widmeyer
Founding Managing Partner, Finn Partners
and Founder, Widmeyer Communications

Treasurer: Scott Jaschik
Co-Founder and Editor, Inside Higher Ed

Secretary: Joy Resmovits
Editor and Reporter, Los Angeles Times

Directors for 2018-2019

Eva-Marie Ayala
Education Reporter, The Dallas Morning News

Michael Alison Chandler
Reporter, The Washington Post

Steve Drummond
Senior Education Editor, NPR News

David Hoff
Senior Vice President, Hager Sharp

Felice Nudelman
Executive Vice President, The Weiss Institute, Say Yes to Education

Debbie Veney
Director of Communications, NewSchools Venture Fund