EWA Announces Finalists for 2018 Reporting Awards
Winners to be honored at annual conference

April 5, 2019 (WASHINGTON, DC)—The Education Writers Association is delighted to announce the finalists for the 2018 National Awards for Education Reporting and the Eddie Prize, recognizing the top education stories in online, print and broadcast media across the country.

This year, 55 entries earned the status of finalist from EWA’s panel of judges. The entries were characterized by exemplary narrative and investigative work, stunning visuals, audio productions that moved judges to tears, and public-serving investigations that prompted action and change.

“We feel privileged to help showcase the extraordinary work of the nation’s talented education journalists,” said Caroline Hendrie, EWA’s executive director. “From smaller community publications to flagship national news organizations, the caliber and impact of their collective work is inspiring.”

EWA plans to announce winners for each category on May 6 at EWA’s National Seminar, being held May 6-8, 2019, in Baltimore, Maryland. On May 7, EWA is slated to announce the recipients of EWA’s annual Ronald Moskowitz Prize for Outstanding Beat Reporting, which comes with a $2,500 award; the Edwin Gould Foundation’s Eddie Prize, with a $7,500 award; and the Fred M. Hechinger Grand Prize for Distinguished Education Reporting, which carries an award of $10,000.

Finalists were selected from among  more than 400 eligible entries for 16 categories in EWA’s National Awards for Education Reporting, as well as the fifth annual Eddie Prize, which recognizes the best work on the challenges low-income students face completing college.

The awards competition was independently judged by a total of 73 current and former editors and reporters, many of whom are past recipients of EWA and other prestigious journalism awards. EWA would like to express our deep gratitude and thanks to the busy professionals who volunteered their time to evaluate the entries.

Full list of judges

EWA is grateful to the College Board for its generous support of the 2018 National Awards for Education Reporting, and to the Edwin Gould Foundation for its sponsorship of the Eddie Prize.