EWA Announces Board Officers for 2014-15

May 14, 2014 - The Education Writers Association is pleased to announce the 2014 – 2015 officers of the organization’s Board of Directors.

On April 21, 2014, all EWA members were sent the slate of officers as prepared by the Nominating Committee and invited to nominate additional candidates by May 13, 2014 (Per EWA Bylaws, Article V: Nomination of Officers, Section 1.1). 

As of May 13, EWA had not received any additional nominations, and therefore the slate is declared elected (Article VI: Election of Officers, Section 1.1).

The 2014-2015 EWA Board of Directors Officers: 

President, Scott Elliott, Bureau Chief, Chalkbeat Indiana

Vice President, Journalists, Scott Jaschik, Co-founder and Editor, Inside Higher Ed

Vice President, Community Members, Cornelia Grumman, Director of Policy and Strategic Communications, University of Chicago Urban Education Institute

Secretary, Elizabeth Green, Co-founder, CEO and Editor-in-Chief, Chalkbeat

The term of office is one year and officers may not serve more than two consecutive terms in the same office. 

For questions regarding the bylaws or board of directors, contact Lavinia Hurley, interim director of membership, at