Confirmed Speakers for EWA’s 2021 National Seminar
List includes top education leaders, policy makers, researchers and journalists.

The Education Writers Association is delighted to announce an exciting and important lineup of speakers for our virtual National Seminar, to be held May 3-5, 2021.

Attendance at EWA’s National Seminar is free, but exclusive to EWA journalist, student and supporting community members. EWA members can reserve their seats here. Those who are not members, but who wish to attend this event, can apply to join EWA. Membership is free for journalist and student members.

EWA’s National Seminar is the largest and most prestigious gathering of education journalists each year. This year’s event, our 74th annual National Seminar, will focus on the theme “Now What? Reporting on Education Amid Uncertainty,” and will feature dozens of leading researchers, education leaders, policymakers and journalists. 

Reserve your seat now!

This list of confirmed speakers is correct as of April 1, 2021, and will be updated regularly. 

  • Dominique Baker, Southern Methodist University
  • Caroline Bauman, Chalkbeat
  • Marjorie Blen, San Francisco State University
  • Emma Brown, The Washington Post
  • Bridget Burns, University Innovation Alliance
  • Eder Campuzano, The Oregonian
  • Miguel Cardona, U.S. Department of Education
  • Sarah Carpenter, Memphis Lift
  • Arria Coburn, The Springfield Renaissance School
  • Rachel Davenport, Texas State University
  • Daniel Domenech, AASA, The School Superintendents Association
  • Danielle Dreilinger, author
  • Aaron Philip Dworkin, National Summer Learning Association
  • Adriana Galván, UCLA 
  • Adam Harris, The Atlantic
  • Anemona Hartocollis, The New York Times
  • Rick Hess, American Enterprise Institute
  • Andrew Ho, Harvard University
  • Keri Hubbard, Cadence Learning
  • Angelica Infante-Green, Rhode Island Department of Education
  • Chana Joffe-Walt, Serial
  • Ebony Johnson, Tulsa Public Schools
  • Robert Kelchen, Seton Hall University
  • Joshua Kim, Dartmouth College
  • Melissa Korn, The Wall Street Journal
  • Robin Lake, Center on Reinventing Public Education
  • Doug Lederman, Inside Higher Ed
  • Constance Lindsay, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Scott Marion, Center for Assessment
  • Pedro Noguera, University of Southern California
  • Jo Napolitano, author
  • Julie J. Park, University of Maryland
  • Jennifer Peck, Partnership for Children and Youth
  • Libby Pier, Education Analytics
  • Denise Pope, Stanford University
  • Ashley Rogers Berner, Johns Hopkins University
  • Nirvi Shah, Politico
  • Sonja Santelises, Baltimore City Public Schools
  • Robert Slavin, Johns Hopkins University
  • Andy Smarick, Manhattan Institute
  • Delece Smith-Barrow, Politico
  • Michael Sorrell, Paul Quinn College
  • Vidya Sundaram, Family Engagement Lab
  • Andy Thomason, Chronicle of Higher Education
  • Van Ton Quinlivan, Futuro Health
  • Robert Vela, San Antonio College
  • Rochelle Wilcox, Wilcox Academy of Early Learning
  • Rebecca Winthrop, Center for Universal Education (Brookings Institution)